Skip to Main Content

Claire Volkening Wins The Braly Award for non-fiction

April 14, 2021 11:18 AM
We are proud to share that the English department's 2021 Braly Award winner for non-fiction is Clair Volkening's piece "The Bridge". Clair is a sophomore English major in the Communications and Technology track.
Congratulations on this well-deserved creative achievement! Read PDF with all three Braly awardees pieces.

The Malcolm C. Braly Creative Writing Award was established to honor the memory of Malcolm C. Braly, who was a member of the UMBC English Department until his death in 1980. Awards are made each year in fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction.

This year's award process was directed by Sally Shivnan. The judges were Ryan Bloom, Aditya Desai, Mike Fallon, Keegan Finberg, Kate Lashley Fischer, Tanya Olson, and Lia Purpura.

0 Comments (requires login)